top of page

Monarch's Basketball

The Monarchs’ basketball season has finally started, and it seems like an early Christmas present to me. Around this time last year, I chose to become a basketball stat. I’d been a statistician for Marysville Monarchs Boys Basketball team. This year our coach, Mr.Grose, said “ We actually had one of our best off seasons this year, we have high expectations this year.” Coach says his favorite thing about coaching would be “ Helping the players reach their goals, along with sharing an interest.” Our coach, Mr. Grose, is in his 8th year of coaching.

At the time last year I’d begun statting I knew little to nothing about basketball..once i learned the game, I loved everything about it. At MHS we have 3 teams, It was an honor and a gift to make varsity, Everyone wanted a spot. The freshman couldn’t play varsity, though last year only two freshmen made junior varsity. There is constant competition between the boys, more competition on our team alone than when we actually played someone. We had one sophomore on varsity, and he was very determined. He was the youngest on varsity, the crowds at the games always said “he has so much pressure on him, he’s too young”. Varsity took over fridays, even at the away games.

My job was to collect the players progress, every game. Rebounds, turnovers, free throws, fouls, assists, and most importantly the points. Stats were important because the coaches needed to see the progress of the player. I’d get my stat sheets every game, I’d have to remember faces, and numbers to put down on the sheet. To this day I remember every single player’s number from freshman to varsity. Impressive right?, every other Tuesday we’d have games where all three teams played, The other nights would be Fridays, everyone’s favorite. I’d love the Friday’s. The Freshman games would always come first , they start an hour after school let out which was 3pm. I’d go from the freshmen game, to the Junior varsity, and finally my favorite Varsity. Friday’s were my favorite because the games would last so late and it didn’t really matter since the weekend was approaching. Tuesday’s were harder, I’d have to go to school the next day after a long day of basketball. Although I previously knew nothing about basketball, know a lot now, I point out NBA games for fouls. Stats weren’t easy but I enjoyed the pressure. What I put on my stat sheet would determine the way coach looked at you after the game. It felt good having control over that, I kept everything as accurate as I could always. Most girls thought Wrestling stats were better, they had twenty four stats, we barely had two. The boys had practice every day, I’d come to the practices, even the lifting days, I’d come for moral support. Doing stats was one of the most eye opening experiences. I felt like a coach. I’d recommend basketball stats to anyone, you won’t regret it!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page